Certificate IV in Training and Assessment – TAE40110 – TAE40116

**NB: The TAE40110 has been superseded by TAE40116 (a newer version of the qualification), Watto Training is not registered to deliver TAE40116.**

Changes in the TAE

TAE40110 was superseded by TAE40116 on 5 April 2016. TAE40110 is currently in what is known as a “teach out” period. RTOs can continue to offer the TAE40110 course for 18 months from 5 April 2016, because the TAE40116 has a longer transition period instead of the usual 12 months. RTOs will have to deliver the new course by the end of this period.

TAE40116 is actually the 4th ‘train the trainer’ course. The first 3 were the:

  • BSZ40198 – Certificate IV in Assessment and Workplace Training (released in October 1998)
  • TAA40104 – Certificate IV in Training and Assessment (released in October 2004)
  • TAE40110 – Certificate IV in Training and Assessment (released in May 2010)

Q: Is the Certificate IV in Training and Assessment (TAE40110) still valid?

The TAE40110 qualification still meets the minimum requirements under Clause 1.14 and 1.15 of the Standards for RTOs 2015.

Q: Can I still enrol in the Certificate IV in Training and Assessment (TAE40110) now?

Yes. The TAE40110 currently meets the minimum requirements under Clause 1.14 and 1.15 of the Standards for RTOs 2015. If you want to work in training and assessment that leads to an Australian Qualification Framework qualification or statement of attainment then it is still an appropriate qualification to enrol in. Alternatively, you could study a diploma or higher level qualification in adult education (which will also meet the human resource requirements listed in Schedule 1 of the Standards of RTOs 2015). NB: Watto Training does not deliver either of the Diplomas, namely,

TAE50111 Diploma Of Vocational Education And Training

TAE50211 Diploma Of Training Design And Development

Q: Will I be able to upgrade from TAE40110 to the TAE40116?

Yes. If you go to www.training.gov.au you will be able to search providers of TAE40116.

Q: What are the updates and changes in the 2016 course?

Features TAE40110 TAE40116
Entry Requirements Nil. Must have vocational background in
a proposed area of teaching
Structure 10 Units (7 Core plus 3 Electives) 10 Units (9 Core plus 1 Elective)
TAELLN411 Elective Unit Core Unit
TAEASS502 Elective Unit Core Unit

The TAELLN411 unit is designed to develop skills and knowledge required of a vocational trainer or assessor to identify language, literacy and numeracy (LLN) skill requirements of training and the work environment; and to use resources and strategies that meet the needs of the learner group. It is currently available as an optional elective unit in the TAE40110 course, to help you prepare if you wish to look for a TAE40116 upgrade in the future.

The TAEASS502 Design and Develop Assessment Tools is a Diploma level unit aimed at developing skills and knowledge required to design and to develop assessment tools used to guide the collection of quality evidence, including their application informative, summative recognition of prior learning (RPL) assessment.

Two Existing Units Were Updated And Are No Longer Equivalent To The Previous Version.

  • TAEASS401 – Plan Assessment Activities and Processes; and
  • TAEASS403 – Participate in Assessment Validation

Watto Training RTO Number 40791

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *